25 Candidates Contesting Three Seats in Assam

A total of 25 candidates are in the fray for the bypolls in Assam’s three legislative assembly constituencies Silchar, Lakhipur, Jamunamukh, that will held on September 13.

According to the state election commission, a total of 12 candidates are contesting Silchar, which was vacated after its Congress MLA Sushmita Dev was elected to the Lok Sabha.

The Lakhipur seat fell vacant after death of sitting Congress MLA and former minister Dinesh Prasad Goala, while the Jamunamukh seat became vacant after AIUDF MLA Sirajuddin Ajmal was elected to the Lok Sabha.

A total of five candidates are contesting Lakhipur and eight candidates in Jamunamukh assembly constituency.

A total of 5,09,689 electors including 2,44,543 females will exercise their democratic right at 588 polling stations across the three assembly constituencies.

The state election commission has identified a total of 116 polling stations as hyper sensitive in the three assembly constituencies.

The campaigning for the bypolls of three assembly constituencies ended on Thursday evening.

Arun Dutta Majumdar (Congress), Dilip Kumar Paul (BJP) and Nur Ahmed Barbhuyan (AIUDF) are among the noted contestants in Silchar, while former MLA Dinesh Prasad Goala’s son Rajdeep Goala (Cong), Mukesh Pandey (AIUDF) and Sanjay Thakur (BJP) are the noted ones in Lakhipur in Cachar district.

AIUDF president Badruddin Ajmal’s son Abdur Rahim Ajmal, Bashir Uddin Laskar (Cong) and Bilal Uddin (BJP) are in the fray among others in Jamunamukh assembly constituency in Nagaon district.

Hemanta Kumar Nath is a correspondent in Assam, India, who reports on local news in Assam, the north east Indian state.