The Largest Gathering of The Iranian People in Paris

On Saturday, June 23, the largest gathering of exiled Iranians with the participation of hundreds of political personalities, legislators and jurists with different political affiliations, from 40 countries around the world, called for taking a firm stance vis-a-vis Iran. They also requested recognition of the National Council of Resistance of Iran by the world community.

That story can be seen at: Massive Campaign to Support Ashraf and Liberty Residents

Through its strongest protest against turning Camp Liberty into a prison, the gathering urged the United Nations, the U.S., and the European Union to prevent a humanitarian catastrophe in Ashraf and Liberty. The Government of Iraq is preparing for that catastrophe at the behest of the mullahs’ regime.

image003 064503

The main goal was to guarantee the rights of the residents as ‘asylum-seekers of concern,’ under the Fourth Geneva Convention, and to force Iraq to stop its cruel restrictions against the residents quickly. They underscored that the six-item demands of the residents need to be realized to resume the transfer of the residents to Liberty.

The participants in the gathering urged U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton to immediately implement the court’s ruling, that would stop the unjust designation against the Iranian Resistance.

maryam rajavi
Mrs Maryam Rajavi, Presidentelect of the Iranian resistance

The existing devastating policy has been the main factor for the Iranian regime’s survival over the past 15 years.

The U.S. policy has also been used to justify two massacres in Ashraf, the execution and torture of many members and sympathizers of the PMOI and the Iranian Resistance inside Iran.

Within the United States, it has also allowed the imposition of brutal limitations against Iranians, and yet the Iranian regime and the Iraqi government continue to use it as a lever to repress the residents of Ashraf, and now Liberty.

Over the past few months, the Iraqi government has been trying to move the residents of Camp Ashraf to Camp Liberty, that was previously a U.S. base. If that was the only goal, and the Government of Iraq had abided by their agreement, the transfer may have been completed by now. Because Iraqi Prime Miniter Maliki acts as a tool of Iran, many Ashraf residents have died, and much of their belongings and equipment have been stolen.

The protest aimed to resolve many of the issues, to urge the U.S. government to remove the “terrorist” label from the MEK and pressure the UN into getting serious about assisting in the safe movement of the residents, with their equipment and belongings.

See Also: U.S. State Department Appeasing Iran Mullahs Before Moscow Talks

Some of the speakers were,

From U.S.:

  • Rudy Giuliani, former mayor of New York and presidency candidate (2008);
  • Gov. Ed Rendell, Chair of the Democratic National Committee (1999-2001) and Governor of Pennsylvania (2002-2011);
  • Bill Richardson, former U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations and Governor of New Mexico (2003-2011);
  • John Bolton, former US Ambassador to the United Nations);
  • Judge Michael Mukasey, US Attorney General in the Bush Administration (2007-2009);
  • Ambassador Mitchell Reiss, former Director of Policy Planning at the US Department of State (2003-2005);
  • Robert Torricelli, former Senator;
  • Robert Joseph, U.S. Under Secretary of State for Arms Control and International Security;
  • Ambassador Phillip Crowley, Assistant Secretary of State (2009-2011);
  • Linda Chavez, former White House Director for Public Liaison;

    Former military commanders:

  • Gen. George W. Casey, Army Chief of Staff and commander of Coalition forces in Iraq (2004-2007);
  • Gen. James Conway, 34th Commandant of the United States Marine Corps;
  • Gen. David Phillips, Commander of U.S. Military Police (2008-2011);
  • Col. Wesley Martin, former Senior Anti-terrorism Force Protection Officer for all Coalition Forces in Iraq and Commander of Forward Operation Base in Ashraf;
  • Lt. Col Leo McCloskey, Commander of Forward Operation Base in Ashraf until 2009;
  • Glenn Carle, former Deputy National Intelligence for Transnational Threats;
  • Clarence Page, The 1989 Pulitzer Prize winner for Commentary

    From European Parliament:

  • Alejo Vidal-Quadras, Vice President of the European parliament;
  • Struan Stevenson, President of Delegation for Relations with Iraq of the European Parliament;
  • Tasha de Vasconcelos, humanitarian Ambassador for European Union;

    From France:

  • Philippe Douste-Blazy, Former French Foreign Minister and to the UN Secretary General;
  • Bruno Le Roux, chair of the socialist group in the French Assembly;
  • Senateur Jean-Pierre Michel, co-president of the French Committee for a Democratic Iran;
  • Jean-Pierre Brard former member of the French National Assembly;
  • Dominique Lefebvre, Mayor of Cergy and member of National Assembly;
  • Aude de Thuin, Founder and president of the Women’s Forum for the Economy and Society;
  • Cynthia Fleury, professor of political philosophy from American University in Paris;
  • Yves Bonnet former director of the French DST.

    From Algeria

  • Sid Ahmed Ghozali, former Prime minister
  • Anissa Boumediene, lawyer and former first Lady

    From UK:

  • Brian Binley, MP from the House of Commons;

    From Switzerland:

  • Remy Pagani, Mayor of Geneva;
  • Jean-Charles Rielle, Head of the Geneva City Council;
  • Eric Voruz, member of the Swiss Parliament;

    From Germany:

  • Rita Sussmuth, Former President of the German Bundestag;
  • Professor Gunter, Commissioner of Europe (1999-2009);
  • Otto Bernhardt, Chairman of the German Committee of solidarity with free Iran;

    From Italy and San Marino:

  • Emma Bonino,Vice-President of Italian Senate, former European Commissioner and former Italian Minister of International Trade;
  • Carlo Ciccioli, co-Chair of the Italian Committee of Parliamentarians and citizens for a free Iran;

    From Nordic countries:

  • Geir Haarde, former Prime Minister of Iceland;

    From Ireland:

  • Ambassador John Bruton, Former Irish Prime Minister; Dara Murphy, foreign spokesman for Ireland’s ruling Fianna Fail party;

    From Palestine:

  • Nejat Boubakir, member of parliament;

    From Jordan:

  • Nariman Al-rosan, member of Parliament;

    From Colombia:

  • Ingrid Betancourt, Former presidential candidate;

    From Romania:

  • Raymond Luca, a senior member of the foreign affairs committee;

    From Canada:

  • David Kilgour, former minister;

    From Albania:

  • Pandeli Majko, Former Prime Minster; and

    From Afghanistan:

  • Shokrieh Peykan, member of parliament.
  • Shahriar Kia

    Shahriar Kia is a member of the Iranian opposition (PMOI /MEK). He is a human rights activist and political analyst on Iran and the Middle East.