Six Militant Groups Active in Assam: Government

Guwahati, December 16: In the first sitting of the winter session for Assam’s state government, led by Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi, it was revealed that six militant groups are now active in the state.

The state government sits in Dispur, in the Kamrup district of Western Assam.

Some militant groups have given up their arms and stopped violently fighting against the government in the past year. In this session, the government revealed that the six remaining militant groups are:

  • United Liberation Front of Asom (Independent)
  • National Democratic Front of Bodoland (Sangbijit)
  • Kamatapur Liberation Organization
  • Karbi People’s Liberation Tiger
  • Muslim United Liberation Tigers of Assam
  • Harkat-ul-Mujahidin (Assam)
  • On a happier note, the state government said 13 militant groups came into the peace process and their cadres were now in several designated camps.

    The state government also revealed that 1580 rape cases were registered in police stations in the state during this year so far. This is an apparent reduction from 2012, when 1716 rape cases were registered.

    Hemanta Kumar Nath is a correspondent in Assam, India, who reports on local news in Assam, the north east Indian state.