NFF and College Hall Of Fame Posts ‘This Week In College Football History’

As part of an ongoing series throughout the fall, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame posts This Week in College Football History, which takes a look back at some of college football’s landmark moments over the last 143 years.


November 12, 2005- With William V. Campbell Trophy winner Rudy Niswanger and NFF National Scholar-Athlete DeMeco Ryans on opposing sides of the ball, No. 5 LSU defeated No. 3 Alabama 16-13 in overtime in Tuscaloosa, Ala.

The Crimson Tide, who came into the game at 9-0 for the first time since 1994, jumped to a 10-0 halftime edge but achieved just four first downs in the second half.

The Bayou Bengals pulled within three on a one-yard plunge on fourth down by tailback Justin Vincent, and tied the game on a 42-yard field goal by Chris Jackson.

Alabama opened the overtime period with a 34-yard Jamie Christensen field goal, and LSU finally gained the upper hand when quarterback JaMarcus Russell hit wide receiver Dwayne Bowe with an 11-yard touchdown pass to win the game. CLICK HERE TO SEE VIDEO OF THIS GAME.


November 7, 1987- Paul Hewitt of San Diego State became the first player in college football history to rush for three touchdowns in five consecutive games. Hewitt’s three scores were not enough to push the Aztecs past BYU as San Diego State fell 38-21 in Provo, Utah. Hewitt set a school record with 18 rushing touchdowns during the 1987 campaign. His feat was matched one year later by College Football Hall of Famer Barry Sanders of Oklahoma State, and has not been equaled since.

November 8, 1997- College Football Hall of Fame inductee Lloyd Carr led No. 4 Michigan into Happy Valley to face College Football Hall of Fame coach Joe Paterno and No. 3 Penn State. The Wolverines dominated from the first play of the game when Michigan defensive lineman Glen Steele sacked Mike McQueary. 1997 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Brian Griese led the Michigan offense, connecting on 14-of-22 passes for 151 yards and two touchdowns. The dagger came when Griese found Heisman Trophy winner Charles Woodson for a 37-yard touchdown pass to give Michigan a 17-0 edge en route to a 34-8 victory. Michigan would defeat No. 4 Ohio State two weeks later, clearing the way for Carr to bring the first national championship to Ann Arbor since 1948.

November 9, 1974- College Football Hall of Fame coach Grant Teaff and Baylor stunned College Football Hall of Fame coach Darrell Royal and No. 12 Texas 34-24 in Waco, Texas. The Longhorns built a 24-7 halftime advantage with touchdown jaunts from future College Football Hall of Fame tailbacks Earl Campbell and Roosevelt Leaks, who combined for 153 yards on the day. Baylor owned the second half, outscoring Texas 27-0, behind quarterback Neal Jeffrey’s 351 passing yards and three total touchdowns, a blocked punt deep in Texas territory, and a forced fumble of Texas quarterback Marty Akins to set up the go-ahead score. The win gave Teaff and the Bears their first triumph over Texas since 1956, and ultimately led to their first Southwest Conference title since 1924. After finishing in last place the previous season, Baylor’s long-awaited conference championship became known as the “Miracle on the Brazos.”

November 10, 1956- In Tempe, Ariz., 7-0 Arizona State hosted 6-1 UTEP with the Border Conference crown on the line. The Miners rushed for 288 yards en route to a 28-0 victory, clinching their first league championship. The game was much closer than the final score, however, as the Sun Devils marched inside the UTEP 30-yard line eight times only to come away empty handed each time, including a lost fumble into the end zone by fullback Joe Belland in the second quarter.

November 11, 1961- Oregon State’s “Giant Killers,” fresh off a win over No. 2 Purdue and tying No. 2 UCLA, claimed another victim when they stunned No. 1 USC 3-0 in Corvallis, Ore. Future College Football Hall of Fame tailback O.J. Simpson gained 188 yards on 33 carries but the Beavers defense turned away every scoring threat. College Football Hall of Fame inductee Bill Enyart rushed for 135 yards on 24 carries, but Mike Haggard’s 30-yard field goal in the second quarter was all Oregon State would need. The Beavers leapt to No. 8 in the AP poll following their impressive three-game stretch and finished the season ranked seventh, which was the highest ranking in school history until 2000.

November 13, 1943 – North Carolina and Penn combined to set an NCAA record that will likely never be approached again. The two squads combined for minus-13 passing yards on the day, the fewest passing yards gained in college football history. North Carolina completed 1-of-7 passes for a loss of seven yards, while Penn connected on 2-of-12 attempts for a loss of six yards. North Carolina won the game 9-6 in Philadelphia.

2005 NFF National Scholar-Athletes DeMeco Ryans (Alabama) and Rudy Niswanger (LSU) squared off in a battle of top 5 teams this week in college football history.

This report was researched and written by NFF Communications Assistant Zach Barnett. Click here to read this story online.


Founded in 1947 with early leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl “Red” Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 121 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame, the NFF Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments, Play It Smart, the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Alumni Association, and scholarships of more than $1.3 million for college and high school scholar-athletes. The NFF presents the MacArthur Bowl, the William V. Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth, and releases the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) Standings. For more information, please visit

External Writer
NewsBlaze sometimes accepts external writers. We are very selective and most people who make requests are not accepted. Every story published goes through our editorial process.