Astronaut Jack Schmitt Joins Skeptics

Richard Lindzen, Roy Spencer to address conference

American astronaut Dr. Jack Schmitt – the twelfth person to walk on the Moon, when he and Eugene Cernan were the last two to walk there – is the latest scientist to be added to the roster of more than 70 skeptics who will confront the subject of global warming at the second annual International Conference on Climate Change in New York City March 8-10, 2009.

The conference expects to draw 1,000 attendees including private-sector business people, state and federal legislators and officials, policy analysts, media, and students.

Schmitt, who earned a PhD from Harvard in geology, resigned in November from the Planetary Society, an international non-profit organization devoted to inspiring “the people of Earth to explore other worlds, understand our own, and seek life elsewhere.” He is the twelfth person to walk on the Moon; as of 2008, of the nine living moonwalkers, he and his crewmate Eugene Cernan were the last two to walk there.

“As a geologist, I love Earth observations,” Schmitt wrote, “But, it is ridiculous to tie this objective to a ‘consensus’ that humans are causing global warming when human experience, geologic data and history, and current cooling can argue otherwise. ‘Consensus,’ as many have said, merely represents the absence of definitive science. You know as well as I, the ‘global warming scare’ is being used as a political tool to increase government control over American lives, incomes and decision making…”

Schmitt will be joined by more than 70 other economists, public officials, legal experts, and climate specialists calling attention to new research that contradicts claims that Earth’s moderate warming during the 20th Century primarily was man-made and has reached crisis proportions.

Joseph Bast, president of The Heartland Institute, producer of the event along with more than 30 co-sponsors, explained, “At the first conference last March, we proved that the skeptics in the debate over global warming constitute the center or mainstream of the scientific community while alarmists are on the fringe.

“Now in the past nine months, the science has grown even more convincing that global warming is not a crisis. Also suggesting this ‘crisis’ is over are opinion polls in the U.S. and around the globe and political events, including the decisive defeat of ‘cap-and-trade’ legislation in the U.S. Senate last spring. The crisis has been cancelled by sound science and common-sense.”

Headliners among the 70-plus presenters will be:

* William Gray, Colorado State University, leading researcher into tropical weather patterns.

* Richard Lindzen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, one of the world’s leading experts in dynamic meteorology, especially planetary waves.

* Stephen McIntyre, primary author of Climate Audit, a blog devoted to the analysis and discussion of climate data. He is a devastating critic of the temperature record of the past 1,000 years, particularly the work of Michael E. Mann, creator of the infamous “hockey stick” graph. That graph–thoroughly discredited in scientific circles–supposedly proved that mankind is responsible for a sharp increase in greenhouse gases.

* Arthur Robinson, curator of a global warming petition signed by more than 32,000 American scientists, including more than 10,000 with doctorate degrees, rejecting the alarmist assertion that global warming has put the Earth in crisis and is caused primarily by mankind.

* Willie Soon, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics.

* Roy Spencer, University of Alabama at Huntsville, principal research scientist and team leader on NASA’s Aqua satellite..

A partial list of confirmed speakers appears below.

Dan Miller, executive vice president of The Heartland Institute, a 24-year-old national nonpartisan think-tank based in Chicago, said, “All of the event’s expenses will be covered by admission fees and individual and foundation donors to Heartland. No corporate dollars earmarked for the event were solicited or accepted.”

Partial list of confirmed speakers at the

Second International Conference on Climate Change

Syun Akasofu

University of Alaska Fairbanks

J. Scott Armstrong

University of Pennsylvania

Dennis Avery

Hudson Institute

Joseph L. Bast

The Heartland Institute

Robert Bradley

Institute for Energy Research

Yaron Brook

Ayn Rand Institute

Bob Carter

James Cook University (Australia)

Frank Clemente

Penn State University

John Coleman

KUSI-TV, San Diego

William Cotton

Colorado State University

Joe D’Aleo

International Climate and Environmental Change Assessment Project

David Douglass

University of Rochester

Terry Dunleavy

International Climate Science Coalition

Myron Ebell

Competitive Enterprise Institute

Christopher Essex

University of Western Ontario

Robert Ferguson

Science and Public Policy Institute

Michelle Foss

University of Texas, Center for Energy Economics

William Gray

Colorado State University

Fred Goldberg

Royal School of Technology (Sweden)

Laurence Gould

University of Hartford

Kesten Green

Monash University

Chris Horner

Competitive Enterprise Institute

Howard Hayden

University of Connecticut

Craig Idso

Center for the Study of Carbon Dioxide and Global Change

Sam Kazman

Competitive Enterprise Institute

Richard Kenn

University of Colorado

William Kininmonth

Former head of the Australian National Climate Center

David Legates

University of Delaware

Jay Lehr

The Heartland Institute

Marlo Lewis

Competitive Enterprise Institute

Richard Lindzen

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Keith Lockitch

Ayn Rand Institute

Craig Loehle

National Council for Air and Stream Improvement

Anthony Lupo

University of Missouri

Steve McIntyre

University of Toronto

Ross McKitrick

University of Guelph (Canada)

Patrick Michaels

University of Virginia

Christopher Monckton

Science and Public Policy Institute

Kevin Murphy

University of Chicago

Joanne Nova

Author, The Skeptics Handbook

Jim O’Brien

Florida State University

Tim Patterson

Carleton University (Canada)

Benny Peiser

Liverpool John Moores University (United Kingdom)

Paul Reiter

Pasteur Institute (France)

Arthur Robinson

Oregon Institute of Science and Medicine

Joel Schwartz

American Enterprise Institute

S. Fred Singer

Science and Environmental Policy Project

Fred Smith

Competitive Enterprise Institute

Lawrence Solomon

National Post (Canada)

Willie Soon

Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics

Roy Spencer

University of Alabama in Huntsville

George Taylor

Oregon State University

James M. Taylor

The Heartland Institute

Brian Valentine

U.S. Department of Energy

Jan Veizer

University of Ottawa (Canada)

Anthony Watts

Judyth Piazza
Judyth Piazza is the host of the American Perspective Radio Program, a cutting edge radio program that is full of inspiration and information. It's intended to help people succeed in life.

Celebrity Guests

Each week the American Perspective features celebrity guests from around the nation such as Zig Ziglar, Yolanda King, Billy D. Williams, Tony Little, Mark Victor Hansen, Dave Ramsey and many many more.

Award Winning Journalist

Award winning journalist, Judyth Piazza is also the founder of The SOP News Network ( and content Manager/Editor for Newsblaze (